From my analysis and research of different magazines, I have chosen some of my favourite factors:

Vogue Double Page Spread (Gisele Bundchen)- I really like the photography and costume in this double page spread; I like how the text is spread across two pages – I could use a quote from a song and use this as the title (as used here). I would use this double page spread as the two intro pages, before the actual interview/story

Q Double Page Spread (Lady Gaga) – I like the gigantic L in the middle of the page and the photography. I also like the idea of a story, rather than an interview.

Q Cover (Lady Gaga) –  I like the photography on this cover, how the model’s head covers some of the graphics and the text. I like the radical difference in text font with ‘Lady GaGa’ too.

Harper’s Bazaar Editorial Page (use as Contents) – This page I would use as a Contents page, I would replace the shoe image with a prop or alternative image of the cover model. I like how the  text is placed and separated with a line.

Q Double Page Spread (Jimmy Hendrix) – I quite like the image here, however I don’t think I would be able to replicate this image, considering the lighting, props etc. Although, I have chosen this double page spread because I really like the use of text here – the font, size, style etc. I also like how parts are highlighted in red and in white.

Harper’s Bazaar Cover (only use Masthead) – I really like the style of the Harper’s Bazaar Masthead, how the ‘Harper’s’ and ‘Espana’ is styled a lot smaller than ‘Bazaar’. However, I would construct my masthead to be slightly covered by the cover model, to give the impression that the magazine is well-known.

Image Guidelines – All the images here I have chosen as guidelines, I feel are effective in pose, costume and appropriate to the genre of magazine. Some are from Music Magazines, e.g. Gwyneth Paltrow’s image is from Q magazine, as she did an interview about her husband Coldplay lead singer Chris Martin.

I HAVE DECIDED TO USE THE FOLLOWING:

COVER – Q MAGAZINE (Lady Gaga)

CONTENTS – Harper’s BAZAAR style

DOUBLE PAGE SPREAD (1) – Q MAGAZINE (Lady Gaga)

DOUBLE PAGE SPREAD (2) – Q MAGAZINE (Jimmy Hendrix)